Upgrading from Hardy to Intrepid …

So I finally took the plunge and went with the fully automatic upgrade to Ubuntu 8.10 from 8.04 on my Lenovo Thinkpad R61, and I am pleased to announce that it went EXTREMELY WELL!

Because I had a horde of applications installed as well as the full KDE4 gui of things, I had to download 1GB of updates to move me from one Ubuntu release to another. It sounds like a lot, but when we are talking about a fully automated upgrade — its actually totally awesome!

There were three “main” things that I had to repair once the upgrade was finished and the system restarted:

1. I had to reinstall Samba (for networking)
2. I had to reinstall AWN (Dock App)
3. I also had to reinstall Flash for Firefox

Upgrading an Operating System has never been easier!

Posted in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

