Ubuntu Hardy on the Lenovo Ideapad S10

I installed Ubuntu 8.04 LTS on the Lenovo Ideapad S10 without much hassle.
What took the longest was finding which program to use which would create a working USB LiveCD of Ubuntu.

I tried the manual approach from the terminal as well as liveusb. Both approaches produced the USB LiveCD just fine but neither of them worked well enough to install Ubuntu on the device.

Finally I found the one that worked — UNetbootin

Once I had the USB stick ready I plugged it into the S10 and pressed the power button. From there on out it was a breeze.

After Ubuntu was installed everything except the wireless was working so I installed ndiswrapper and ndisgtk from the USB stick and installed the wireless driver for the Broadcom wireless device.

Wow … very different from Microsoft Windows …. one driver for the entire system … awesome!

3 Responses to “Ubuntu Hardy on the Lenovo Ideapad S10”

  1. Jan Says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the tip. However I cannot get my WLAN to work.
    Which “Broadcom wireless device” driver have you used, and how do I install it? Many thanks in advance.
    Jan

  2. Jan Says:

    http://forum.ubuntuusers.de/topic/wpa2-net-manager-verbinden-ausgegraut/

    Sorry guys, I think I should read the threads first before writing.

  3. Jack Says:

    I ended up putting Ubuntu Jaunty on my S10 and the wireless was working out of the box. Overall it ran better!


Leave a Reply

